Emancipation of Children in New Jersey

Production Date: February 23, 2014 Practice Areas: Family & Matrimonial Law and Public Interest Law Estimated Length: 4002 minutes

$59

$ 59 Family & Matrimonial Law and Public Interest Law In Stock

Your client is divorced with children and pays child support. The child is approaching the age of eighteen and your client wants to terminate his support obligation. Can he? Under current New Jersey law, a child is presumed emancipated at 18, but the emancipation is not automatic. There are many factors and circumstances that would lead the child to remain unemancipated, and your client’s child support obligation to continue, possibly for many years beyond 18. In this course, seasoned matrimonial attorney Laura Mann will discuss the definition of emancipation under current NJ law, when and how a child is emancipated and recent trends in this area.

 

Learning Objectives:

  1. Understand the emancipation of a child in New Jersey
  2. Define “Presumption of Emancipation”
  3. Overcome the Presumption
  4. Recognize exceptions to the Presumption of Emancipation
  5. Explain the significant cases
  6. Find resources, guides, links and other information


This course originally appeared as a part of our February 2014 Bridge the Gap Event.

Fabian K.
Linden, NJ

Good Info.

Gwaina W.
West Hartford, CT

Good Presentation

Harry J.
Bridgeton, NJ

great job

Shashi D.
Guttenberg, NJ

Great

Bradley R.
New York, NY

Informative

Brian H.
Garden City, NY

Informative and to the point.